Sweet Potato, Spinach and Lentil Dahl (serves 2)

This is a delicious and quick recipe from the BBC Good Food website that is great for using up vegetables. I used butternut squash instead of sweet potato and threw in some nearly gone parsnips too. I also doubled the recipe so that I could take some to work the next day!

What you need…

  • 100g red lentils
  • 450ml veg stock
  • 1 onion,
  • 2  tomatoes
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 red chilli (or ½ a green chilli)
  • 1 large sweet potato (or root veg of your choice)
  • 2 handfuls young leaf spinach

Serve with…

  • 2 x naan bread, warmed
  • Spoonful of natural yoghurt (optional)

What to do…

  1. Finely chop the onion and chilli. Chop the root veg into bitesize pieces. Shred the spinach.
  2. Put all the ingredients except the root veg, spinach and naan in a pan, bring to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes.
  3. Add the root veg and cook until tender, another 10-12 minutes. Stir in the spinach and cook for a minute until wilted.
  4. Serve with naan.

* Tip: A dollop of natural yoghurt on top works a treat!

15 thoughts on “Sweet Potato, Spinach and Lentil Dahl (serves 2)

  1. This looks yummy. I don’t think I’ve ever had Dahl before. I once volunteer with a group to serve food to the homeless. One of the things we served was Dahl and I remember it smelling so good.

  2. Thanks for this post: this recipe was a great hit with my family when I did dinner one evening and all we had for a curry was lentils and spinach (my mother’s favourite vegetable). I found the recipe on BBC Good Food. When I wanted to do it again I found the original page had been removed from the BBC website because the copyright of the recipe had expired. I was so pleased to find it on your page 🙂 Now it’s favourited to my browser’s bookmarks.

    The rest of your recipe website looks interesting and I’ll be visiting the site again to look for more great finds 🙂

    Emma

  3. I forgot to add that I usually cook it without the root veg of sweet potato or parsnips (I tend to stick to lower GI, lower carb cooking so if there’s naan, other Indian breads or rice with a curry I wouldn’t put more cabs in the curry) and still pretty tasty. Although I’m sure having it with both is great for a super filling meal. 🙂

  4. Just cooked this, and although super tasty and filling I found I had to add extra water to be sure the curry didn’t dry up. Even though I added extra water the lentils burnt at the bottom of the pan, so I have a lot of scrubbing to do later after a good soak.
    That was disappointing, I’m glad the meal is so delicious to make up for it!

  5. This is my favourite recipe.. It is so tasty. I add some creamed coconut to it and it is amazing..
    Glad I have found it again after the bbc removed it from their website!

Leave a comment