The glass is half full…

…which I’ve recently discovered is sometimes better than full! Step 4 of the challenge saw us learning how to measure our portions correctly, an area in which I do struggle. Over the past few weeks, I thought that my tendency to cook giant portions of everything actually worked in my favour, because then I would have leftovers for the following day’s lunch.

That’s all well and good, but sometimes my problem is that I make too much for dinner, but not quite enough to get another meal out of the remains. So I am left with the following dilemma – should I eat it all in one go or should I throw away the scraps? Although more often than not I do gorge on a giant meal (or pass it to Andy, human dustbin extraordinaire), there are occasions when perfectly good food is scraped away into bin-bagged oblivion.

Let’s face it – either scenario is not ideal. I don’t want to waste food, but similarly I don’t want to stuff myself silly just to prove that I don’t waste food. The solution is simple – I should learn how to judge portions correctly (which I can double if I want the same meal for lunch). Measuring foods like rice and pasta has never been my forte. Usually, I go by the traditional ‘one 50p-sized portion of spaghetti per person’ school of thought, but then end up adding more…and more…you know, just in case. This is what has to stop. And this is what my challenge has been over the past few days.

The Step 4 card of the kit was fairly invaluable in tackling this stage of Kitchen Canny. I learned that a standard mug is 300ml or just over half a pint, that an adult portion of rice is about a quarter of a mug (I usually use at least half) and that dry pasta roughly doubles in size when cooked (this little tidbit was especially shocking, as I often measure out an entire bowl of dried pasta shells for my dinner, then can’t understand how I end up with so much).

 

The card also contained food storage information, most of which I knew but a lot of which I may not put into practice. One great tip was to freeze fresh herbs by chopping them and mixing them with water in ice-cube trays. I often end up forgetting about these herbs and wasting them, so this was useful; similarly I know now that I can freeze portions of chopped vegetables to thaw as required. My freezer is about to get even more Tupperware-friendly!

Soon I’ll be repeating the first stage of Kitchen Canny – measuring my food waste. Hopefully the planning, shopping, portioning and storage tips I have learned recently will result in zero food waste!

Love Emma S xxx

Leave a Reply

